Executive Director, IEE
Distinguished Affiliate, UCSB Computer Science

Mark Abel


Mark Abel is the Executive Director for the Institute for Energy Efficiency (IEE) at the University of California Santa Barbara (UCSB), where he is also a Distinguished Computer Science Affiliate. Mark works with IEE's faculty, students, and industry and government partners to help guide IEE's research in Energy Efficient Computing and Communications (more info), Smart Societal Infrastructure (more info) and the Food-Energy-Water Nexus (more info).


Mr. Abel joined UCSB and IEE as he retired from Intel in 2018 where he was a longtime senior director of research. His last Intel role was leading Intel’s worldwide network of academic research centers. During his Intel career, his research labs and tech transfer teams won or shared Intel’s highest honor, the Intel Achievement Award, seven times for the creation of new technologies and new businesses for Intel, including the invention and delivery of technologies that shipped in over a billion Personal Computers. Mr. Abel has served on numerous industry and academic boards.  For example, he is currently UCSB and IEE’s representative to the University Energy Institute Leadership Collaborative. Prior to his industry retirement, he also served the University of Michigan in a variety of roles including chairing both the Computer Science and Engineering and the EECS advisory boards. Mark is also an Affiliate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of Washington. Prior to joining Intel, Mr. Abel held research and leadership positions with Bell Labs, Xerox PARC, U S WEST Advanced Technologies and Siemens. 



- Distinguished Alumni in Computer Science and Engineering, University of Michigan (2011)
- Led seven teams that won Intel's Highest Honor, the Intel Achievement Award (given to fewer than 0.5% of employees per year)
- Led two Intel teams that won Argentina's highest technical award, the Sadosky Award (2007 and 2008)
- Inaugural Distinguished Computer Science Affiliate, UCSB (2021)


MS Electrical Engineering, Stanford University
BSE Electrical Engineering, University of Michigan