Andrew Masuda
scott shell

Two professors in UC Santa Barbara’s College of Engineering, Beth Pruitt and M. Scott Shell, have received a distinguished lifetime honor within the scientific community: they have both been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), landing among 502 scientists, engineers and innovators across 24 disciplines who make up the 2023 class.

Fewer than 1% of AAAS members each year are elected fellows of the association, the world’s largest general scientific society, that publishes the Science family of journals.

“Professors Pruitt and Shell are outstanding scholars whose innovative research and vision have advanced the course of their respective areas of biomechanics and molecular simulations,” said Umesh Mishra, dean of UCSB’s College of Engineering. “They have also made significant contributions to our university and college as leaders and mentors. On behalf of the college, I congratulate them both on this tremendous and well-deserved recognition from their peers.”

Source and Full Article

Read more in The Current!

IEE People Associated

Scott Shell