Summit Welcome

Wednesday, May 1, 2013
8:30 - 8:45 am

John Bowers
Director, Institute for Energy Efficiency
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
UC Santa Barbara 


John Bowers holds the Fred Kavli Chair in Nanotechnology, and is the Director of the Institute for Energy Efficiency and a Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at UCSB. Dr. Bowers received his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Stanford University and worked for AT&T Bell Laboratories and Honeywell before joining UC Santa Barbara. Dr. Bowers is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, a fellow of the IEEE, OSA and the American Physical Society, and a recipient of the OSA Holonyak Prize, the IEEE LEOS William Streifer Award and the South Coast Business and Technology Entrepreneur of the Year Award. He has published eight book chapters, 450 journal papers, 700 conference papers and has received 52 patents. He and coworkers received the EE Times Annual Creativity in Electronics (ACE) Award for Most Promising Technology for the hybrid silicon laser in 2007. 


Mike Witherell
Vice Chancellor for Research
UC Santa Barbara

Michael Witherell is Vice Chancellor for Research at UC Santa Barbara and holds a University of California Presidential Chair in the Physics Department. He served as Director of Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (Fermilab), which operated the world’s largest accelerator for particle physics, from 1999 to 2005. He received the U. S. Secretary of Energy’s Gold Award in 2004 for his service at Fermilab.  Dr. Witherell was elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences in 1998 for his research in particle physics. He now serves as chair of the physics section at the Academy and on its Board on Physics and Astronomy.  

Copyright © 2006-2016 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Idea EngineeringUC Santa Barbara College of EngineeringPrivacyTerms of Use
UCSB  UC Santa Barbara Engineering & the Sciences College of Engineering Division of Math, Life, and Physical Sciences

energy efficiency