The Center for Energy Efficient Design (CEED)

The Center for Energy Efficiency Design (CEED) was founded in 2008 by the joint efforts of faculty in College of Engineering and the Institute for Energy Efficiency at the University of California, Santa Barbara. The CEED is one of the efforts that has been started in support of College Energy Efficiency Initiative, as a response to growing global concern for detrimental impact of wasteful energy spending. Additionally, the United States Congress has passed the Energy Independence and Security Act in 2007, the first energy legislation in decades, which introduced sweeping changes in energy efficiency standards. The mission of CEED is to merge expertise of researchers across engineering and science disciplines, and propose new methods for component and system design that would pursue energy efficiency from the very initial design plans through the entire life-cycle of the system.

The Center for Energy Efficient Design focuses on three key aspects in efficient design; designs specific to building systems, energy generation and storage, and systems integration. The team is made up of collaborators specializing in a wide variety of fields from nano-sciences, to mechanical engineering and applied mathematics. Our approach is to perform cutting edge fundamental research on currently evolving technologies in energy efficient design and our work ranges from highly theoretical mathematical algorithms for design to applied experimental work at all scales.

Our research efforts are led by UC Santa Barbara, in partnership with selected researchers from Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, and United Technologies Corporation among other external institutions.

Research Groups:

Building Systems

The CEED proposes to target three groups of solutions to problems that hinder energy efficiency in present-day buildings and tie into those off-the-shelf technologies: integration of subsystems, adaptation to uncertainties, and energy-efficient design blueprints.

Generation, Conversion, Distribution and Storage

The CEED is working on advances at all stages of energy use including harvesting energy from ambient nonlinear vibrations, use of thermoacoustic engines in energy conversion, actively controlled indoor air flows for better distribution of energy, and flywheel energy storage.

Systems Integration

The CEED believes a systems-level integration analysis is needed to optimize any system as a whole in order to achieve even the component-by-component peak performance and efficiency.

 


Faculty/Researchers

Name Email Telephone Group(s)
Bamieh, Bassam bamieh@engineering.ucsb.edu (805) 893-4490 GCDS
Bullo, Francesco bullo@engineering.ucsb.edu (805) 893-5169 BS, SI
El Abbadi, Amr amr@cs.ucsb.edu (805) 893-4321  
Gibou, Frederic fgibou@engineering.ucsb.edu (805) 893-7152  
Hespanha, Joao hespanha@ece.ucsb.edu (805) 893-7042  
Homsy, George bud@engineering.ucsb.edu (805) 893-2704 BS, GCDS
Khammash, Mustafa khammash@engineering.ucsb.edu (805) 893-4967  
Madhow, Upamanyu madhow@ece.ucsb.edu (805) 893-5210 BS, SI
Matthys, Eric matthys@engineering.ucsb.edu (805) 893-2919  
Meiburg, Eckart meiburg@engineering.ucsb.edu (805) 893-5278 BS, SI
Mezic, Igor mezic@engineering.ucsb.edu (805) 893-7603 BS, SI, GCDS
Moehlis, Jeffrey moehlis@engineering.ucsb.edu (805) 893-7513 BS, SI, GCDS
Paden, Brad paden@engineering.ucsb.edu (805) 451-4995 GCDS
Pennathur, Sumita sumita@engineering.ucsb.edu (708) 738-4213 GCDS
Wolski, Richard rich@cs.ucsb.edu (805) 893-3319  
Yang, Henry henry.yang@chancellor.ucsb.edu (805) 893-2231  
Yuen, Walter yuen@engineering.ucsb.edu (805) 831-3892